ℬleu ✽

ℬleu ✽

I would be dismal with all the fine pearls of the crown of a king;
But I can talk plainly to you, you little blue flower of the Spring!
Here in the heart of September the world that I walk in is full
Of the hot happy sound of the shearing, the rude heavy scent of the wool.
Soon would I tire of all riches or honours or power that they fling;
But you are my own, of my own folk, you little blue flower of the Spring!
I was around by the cherries to-day; all the cherries are pale:
The world is a woman in velvet: the air is the colour of ale.
I would be dismal with all the fine pearls of the crown of a king;
But I can give love-talk to you, you little blue flower of the Spring!
-John Shaw Neilson

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ℬleu ✽

  1. Oloriel says:

    This is so beautiful, I cannot stop reading it. I loved the ” the air is the colour of ale.” so much,because it is very creative and unusual and because it also reminded me of a poem that is amongst my top favourites.

    • dhakadi says:

      Merci Oloriel —- this is one of my personal favorite poems by Neilson. This is also the season that Mertensia virginica, i.e. Virginia bluebells (the flower I photographed) are everywhere and beckon to the eyes. Happy Spring to You! –✾

Leave a Reply

